Top Ad unit 728 × 90

Breaking News


World Wide Web Pioneer Tim Berners-Lee Wins Turing Award

The Association for Computing Machinery has given web pioneer Tim Berners-Lee the 2016 Turing Award. Highly regarded as the the Nobel Prize of the computing industry. He received the award not just for inventing the basics of the web, but designing them in an elegant way. His concepts for links (URLs and URIs) were simple and easy to implement, while making HTML the heart of the web helped anyone publish info in a practical format. He fostered the early web by distributing open source code, and he shaped groups like the World Wide Web Consortium (the standards body), World Wide Web Foundation (promoting the web as a basic right) and Web Science Trust (which studies the web's social effects). Google will also give Tim Berners-Lee a hefty sum of $1 million in relation to the award.

No comments:

Comments on GameOPS are moderated. Please keep your comments relevant to this blog entry.

If you don't have a Google, LiveJournal, Wordpress, AIM, Typepad or OpenID account, please choose NAME/URL when posting a commment. Anonymous comments will be rejected.

Proud member of 9rules

Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Powered by Blogger.